This is probably the only aspect of parenting that there is no course for. People offer you so much advise during your pregnancy on how you body will change, how your life will change, how the baby will develop, what to eat, what not to eat etc. But no-one tells you how you and your husbands/partners relationship will be tested to the limit and how many times a day you will have to bite your tongue close to making it bleed, just to avoid a silly argument over rubbish that ordinarily you wouldn’t care about.

The transition from being just the two of us, to the three, with a little one who demands so much from me, is just remarkable. My life revolves (and so it should be, so I’m not complaining) around our son, he wants and needs and comforts are only satisfied by us so he always need us. (But I’d say at the moment, mainly me as I’m still BF) This takes it toll on my husband and I. Waking up a few times in the night for Kobi means I always feel jet lagged during the day, whilst my husband wakes up from a normal nights sleep. Always feeling hungry and thirsty but trying to make food and have a drink whilst holding Kobi is sometimes not worth it so I don’t bother (then gets stressed as I’m thirsty and hungry haha) Not having enough time to eat a full hot meal, means our meals times are scattered and whereas before we would use dinner time to catch up on the day, now we catch up in passing. There really isn’t anything that I can think of that has not changed since having Kobi. Literally EVERYTHING has changed. The life of get up when ever and do what we want is no longer possible. Well no time soon anyway.

This can be lonely with the feeling of being distant from my husband at times is horrible, but then I remember this is only temporary whilst as a family, we settle into a routine and appreciate all the amazing moments we have. Its been a challenge to adapt to having a baby in our life and trying to maintain the life I had before Kobi. However things have to give a little each day and that’s something that I’ve had to learn along the way and not beat my self over if I cant do something that day. There will always be tomorrow.

No-one can prepare you for the roller coaster ride of emotions that you both go through, but I can only say stick to going through it together. Its jut not worth the arguing.

