According to Wikipedia the definition of ‘Confidence’ is generally described as a state of being certain either that a hypothesis or prediction is correct or that a chosen course of action is the best or most effective. Self-confidence is having confidence in one’s self’.

So I’ve been thinking about confidence a lot recently, I guess mainly because I’ve been looking to the future, to further my career, hopes and dreams. To be a strong role model for Kobi and to ensure that he doesn’t make the same mistakes that I did – and ultimately my conclusion is that confidence plays a huge part in being successful, regardless of what you are doing. If you can do with confidence – the likelihood is that you’ll succeed.

So why is it so hard to maintain? How do you make sure you wake up every day with 100% of self-confidence and confidence?

Life can be so cruel sometimes, we all have good days, bad days, ill days, can’t be bothered days – but these hurdles shouldn’t matter? We should still be able to be on top of our game all the time? Right?

I know for me – the fear of rejection from others makes me doubt my confidence and knocks me down. Not everyday though. Some days I’m confident, proud and walk tall and other days, I feel inadequate, small and slouched (these will be what I call my duvet days) But arhhh I hate that feeling. I shouldn’t care what people think, and I know it’s not important what others think but I think as humans we are always looking for acceptance. And this always plays on your confidence.

I need to learn and practice more in being comfortable in what I’m doing, to be proud, stand tall and not doubt myself when I’m doing something. Whether it be cooking, cleaning, exercising or having that all important life changing job interview – if I can do it with confidence and believe in myself, then it all contributes to a self-fulling prophecy – leading to success.

Watching Kobi grow up and interacting with others is amazing. A kids life starts with no barriers, so their approach to people and situations are far more confident than often some adults. Then in time as parents we need to enforce barriers – but finding the right balance is hard – and one that we won’t know is right until it’s often too late. But as they say – every parent is practising and there is no right answer. On wards and upwards!

